World T20 2021, AUS vs PAK, Semi-final: Australia come from behind to beat Pakistan, march into final

David Warner. (Source: Twitter)
Spread the love

Australia defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets in the second semi-final of the T20 World Cup to make it to the final for the second time. Playing first after losing the toss, Pakistan scored 176 runs for the loss of 4 wickets. Mohammad Rizwan (67) and Fakhar Zaman (55)* hit fifty. The target of 177 runs was achieved by AUS in a very exciting way at the loss of 5 wickets in the first over.

Australia needed 22 runs in the last two overs and the responsibility of bowling in the 19th over was on the shoulders of Shaheen Afridi. This over was considered important for both the teams, but Afridi could not play in front of Matthew Wade. Wade hit 3 consecutive sixes in the last three balls of the over to give AUS a memorable win. He played an excellent innings of 41 not out off just 17 balls.

Chasing the target, Australia started poorly and on the third ball of the innings, Shaheen Afridi dismissed Aaron Finch (0) on LBW. Afridi spent just one run in the first over. After this David Warner and Mitchell Marsh took over the innings. Both added 51 runs in 36 balls for the second wicket. This partnership was broken by Shadab Khan by dismissing Marsh (28). Mohammad Hafeez, the first ball of the 8th over, bowled a ball that reached Warner on two taps. Warner also did not miss the opportunity and hit a brilliant six.

Shadab Khan got the third breakthrough for PAK by dismissing Steve Smith (5). Shadab did not stop there and in his very next over, taking the wicket of David Warner (49), who was batting well, gave a big blow to AUS. Shadab continued his strong spell and also showed Glenn Maxwell (7) the way to the pavilion. Matthew Wade and Marcus Stoinis added an unbeaten 75 off 41 balls to give the team a resounding victory for the sixth wicket. Stoinis scored an unbeaten 40 off 31 balls and Matthew Wade scored an unbeaten 41 off just 17 balls.

Playing first after losing the toss, Pakistan got off to a good start. Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam added 71 runs in 60 balls for the first wicket. Both the players were consistently hitting good shots on the field. This partnership was broken by Adam Zampa by dismissing Babar (39). AUS had to struggle for the second wicket as well. Rizwan and Fakhar Zaman added 72 runs in 46 balls. The break on this pair was put on by Mitchell Starc by dismissing Rizwan (67).

In the very next over, Pat Cummins took the wicket of Asif Ali (0). In the last over, Starc clean bowled Shoaib Malik (1). After this, Fakhar Zaman completed his half-century by hitting two consecutive sixes in the next two balls. Fakhar scored 55 not out off 32 balls.

The final of the T20 World Cup will be played between New Zealand and Australia in Dubai on November 14. Both the teams have not won the T20 WC even once. In such a situation, this time cricket fans are going to get a new T20 champion. Let us tell you, where the Kiwi team is playing the final of T20 WC for the first time, while the Kangaroo team has reached the final for the second time. AUS had to face defeat against England in the 2010 World Cup final.

With 33 runs in the match, Pakistani captain Babar Azam completed his 2500 runs in International T20 cricket. Babar achieved this feat in his 62nd innings and with this he also became the highest scorer of 2500 runs in T20Is. Before him, this record was recorded in the name of Virat Kohli (68) innings. Also Babar Azam became the first player to score 300+ runs as a captain in a T20 World Cup.

Mohammad Rizwan became the first player in the world to score 1000 runs in a calendar year in T20I format. Rizwan has scored a total of 1033 runs in 23 T20I matches played so far this year with a strong average of 86.08. He has also scored 10 fifties and 1 century in 20 innings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here