IPL 2020, DCvsKKR: Delhi clinch win in a nail-bitter vs Kolkata

Delhi beat KKR. (Source: BCCI)

Delhi Capitals defeated Kolkata Knight Riders in a high scoring encounter played at Sharjah Cricket Ground, Sharjah on Saturday.

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Dinesh Karthik won the toss and decided to field first. Delhi Capitals openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan started off briskly putting the KKR bowlers under pressure right from word go. Shaw created enough pressure with boundaries with ease while Dhawan took fall balls before taking on KKR bowlers. Dhawan was dismissed by Varun Chakvarthy trying to sweep but giving a simple catch to Eoin Morgan.

At the end of the first six overs, Delhi Capitals scored 57 for 1. DC captain Shreyas Iyer played with intent right from word go and put KKR bowlers under pressure. At the end of first timeout, DC made 75 for 1. Shaw and Iyer made the batting quite easy with positive stroke play. It was an amazing knock by young Shaw completing his fifty off just 35 balls. Iyer and Shaw kept on piling runs with attacking strokes. Kamlesh Nagarkoti struck for KKR dismissing the dangerous Shaw with an easy catch to long-on by Shubman Gill. Shaw and Iyer put on 73 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Rishabh Pant survived a close run-out chance off his first ball. He took few balls to settle while Iyer looked in cracking form. At the end of the second timeout, Delhi Capitals made 131 for 2.

After the timeout, Iyer completed his fifty off just 26 balls. Pant and Iyer upped the ante with big strokes putting KKR bowlers under immense pressure. It was an amazing end to Pant’s innings as he made a quickfire 38 off 17 balls. Iyer and Pant added 72 runs for the 3rd wicket. Iyer smashed Varun Chakravarthy making life tough for KKR. Russell bowled a brilliant 20th over giving away 7 runs and took the wicket of Marcus Stoinis. Despite that effort, Delhi Capitals scored a massive total of 228 for 4 in 20 overs.

Chasing 229 runs to win, it was not an ideal as Sunil Narine poor form continued as he was bowled by Nortje. Nitish Rana looked impressive with his stroke play and put the Delhi Capitals bowlers under pressure while Shubman Gill struggled with his timing. At the end of first six overs, KKR scored 59 for 1.

Delhi Capitals spinners Amit Mishra and Ashwin bowled tight lines and lengths. Mishra struck to get rid of Shubman Gill trying slog sweep top edging going into hands of Pant. Gill and Rana added 64 runs for the 2nd wicket. With that wicket, the first timeout was called.

Andre Russell was promoted at number 4 and looked in decent touch. Kagiso Rabada got the big wicket of Russell to leave KKR in trouble. Nitish Rana made the batting look easy to complete his fifty off 32 balls. Harshal Patel did the damage for Delhi Capitals by getting wickets of Rana and Dinesh Karthik to put KKR under immense pressure. At the end of second timeout, KKR scored 118 for 5.

KKR went into more trouble as Pat Cummins was dismissed by Nortje with an easy catch to Harshal Patel at third man. Eoin Morgan and Rahul Tripathi took the attack to Delhi Capitals bowlers. It was clean hitting by both batsmen who blasted away their bowlers.

Morgan and Tripathi smashed 47 runs in the 17th and 18th over to give KKR a chance of winning the match. Anrich Nortje held his nerves taking the big wicket of Eoin Morgan for a superb 44 off 18 balls. Morgan and Tripathi added 78 runs for the 7th wicket.

With 26 runs required off the final over, Marcus Stoinis bowled a brilliant over and took the wicket of Rahul Tripathi. Delhi Capitals won the match by 18 runs.

Delhi Capitals 228 for 4 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 88, Shaw 66, Andre Russell 2/29) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 210 for 8 in 20 overs (Nitish Rana 58, Eoin Morgan 44, Rahul Tripathi 36, Nortje 3/33) by 18 runs.

For his captain knock of 88 from 38 balls, Shreyas Iyer was named the man of the match award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here