CPL 2020 Final: Trinbago Knight Riders clinch title after beating St Lucia Zouks in final

TKR won the CPL 2020.

Trinbago Knight Riders emerged victorious after beating St Lucia Zouks by 8 wickets in the final in Trinidad. Riding on brilliant batting performance from Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo, TKR chased down the total with more than one over to spare in the final.

Batting first, Lucia lost an early wicket while the score read 10 but steadied the ship for themselves as Mark Deyal and Andre Fletcher stitched a partnership of 67 runs before Deyal departed for 29.

Fletcher followed him 12 runs later after scoring 39 and the Zouks began to lose wickets at regular intervals and were eventually bundled out for 154.

In reply, Scott Kuggeleijn and Roston Chase did give them early breakthroughs but their efforts wereb’t enough as Trinbago’s Simmons and Bravo scored an unbeaten stand of 138 runs to see their side home. Simmons scored 84* while Bravod remained not out for 58.

Who Said What?

Darren Bravo: A great feeling. It’s something we spoke about in the team meeting, unprecedented. We are probably the only cricket team in the entire world to win a tournament without losing a game. Fantastic. It’s all fun (on his celebration). They (Zouks) deserved to be in the final, they had a fantasist run. But, we were the better team today, we definitely deserved to win. We know what he’s (Lendl Simmons) capable of. He believes in himself. Fantastic job, we are all happy for him. To the entire Trinidad and Tobago, thank you very much, Hopefully this victory smile puts a smile. And by extension, for all our fans in India.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here