Bypoll results: ‘Diwali gift’ to these parties, a big blow to BJP; know its meaning here

Spread the love

New Delhi: On Tuesday, the results of the by-elections to three Lok Sabha seats and 29 seats of the Legislative Assemblies were declared. In these results that came before Diwali, if someone’s sparkle has been blown up, then someone’s firecrackers have resonated. What do these results say? Where the people supported the NDA rule and where the opposition was successful. Let’s know.

By-elections were held for one Lok Sabha seat each in Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Dadra Nagar Haveli. Whereas the results of five assembly seats in Assam, four in Bengal, three each in Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya and Himachal, two each in Rajasthan, Bihar and Karnataka, one each in Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram and Telangana.

Meaning of by-election results

In the country, the results of the by-elections have come to Khandwa Lok Sabha seat of Madhya Pradesh, Mandi Lok Sabha seat of Himachal Pradesh and Lok Sabha seat of Dadra Nagar Haveli. In these, the Khandwa seat of Madhya Pradesh went to the BJP, the Mandi seat of Himachal Pradesh to the Congress and the Dadra Nagar Haveli seat to the Shiv Sena.

Lok Sabha by-election results

If we talk about Lok Sabha seats, in the results of these three seats, BJP saved its seat in Khandwa, MP, which was vacated by the death of MP Nandkumar Singh Chauhan. Here, the Mandi Lok Sabha seat of Himachal Pradesh, which was vacated by the death of BJP MP Ram Swaroop Sharma, has now gone to the account of the Congress, which is a setback for the BJP. Shiv Sena seems to be getting a Diwali gift from Dadra Nagar Haveli seat.

Vidhan Sabha by-election results

The results of by-elections have been declared for 29 assembly seats in 13 states in the country. In which the total tally is seen, then only 13 seats are seen going in the account of NDA and 16 seats in the account of non-NDA i.e. opposition parties. If seen from this perspective, NDA has got a little less Diwali bonus and if these election results are analyzed state wise, then the most challenging message or mandate for BJP has come from Himachal Pradesh.

Congress wins and blows to BJP

Mandi Lok Sabha seat was the sitting seat of BJP in Himachal Pradesh, it has gone to the account of Congress. Fatehpur of Himachal Pradesh was the Legislative Assembly seat of BJP which went to the account of Congress. Jubbal Kotkhai was also the assembly seat of BJP, that too went to the account of Congress and Arki’s seat was occupied by Congress even earlier and is still in possession. Meaning BJP has lost two sitting Legislative Assembly and one sitting Lok Sabha seat in Himachal Pradesh. The Himachal Pradesh election results do not bode well for the BJP, especially for the government headed by Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur. Because there is an election in Himachal Pradesh next year and this performance of BJP seems to be presenting a big challenge just before the election.

The victory boosts the opposition’s spirits

Apart from Himachal Pradesh, the results of the by-elections have boosted the spirits of non-BJP parties ie the opposition and increased in three states. In Bihar too, RJD seems to be able to win one seat from JDU. In these, Congress in Rajasthan and TMC in West Bengal have not allowed NDA to open accounts. Congress has captured both the seats in Rajasthan and Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress has won all the four Legislative Assembly seats in West Bengal.

Where the Congress is connecting the victory in the by-elections with the policies of the Modi government at the Center, issues like inflation, unemployment and farmers. At the same time, BJP is considering local issues and equations as the big reason behind the defeat in some places because in Madhya Pradesh, out of three Vidhan Sabha seats and one Lok Sabha seat, BJP has retained the Lok Sabha seat and two Vidhan Sabha seats. If one seat of MP has gone to the account of Congress, similar results have also come from Assam where out of the five assembly seats, BJP has won three and BJP’s allies have won two.

In these by-elections, there was a big discussion about Bihar because BJP is the largest party in Bihar and Chief Minister is Nitish Kumar of JDU. In such a situation, the RJD had presented a big challenge against the NDA government. Even the elderly and sick Lalu Yadav was fielded in the election campaign. RJD had tried to contest this election with full force and it was also confident of victory. Even Lalu Yadav had called the Congress very good and bad. This aggressive campaign and election strategy of RJD was successful to some extent and Nitish Kumar’s party could save only one seat out of its 2 sitting seats. The other’s struggle continues. Apart from Bihar, the results of by-elections have also come to the Legislative Assembly seats in Maharashtra, Andhra, Karnataka, Telangana, Haryana, Meghalaya and Mizoram, in which most of the seats have gone to the account of non-NDA parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here